Students Selected for 2009 NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Scholarships

May 18, 2009

Senator Hollings of South Carolina.

Senator Ernest Hollings of South Carolina. (Credit: NOAA)

NOAA today selected 122 college students to receive scholarships as part of the Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship Program. The scholarships are geared to encourage undergraduates to pursue study in NOAA fields, such as atmospheric and oceanic science, research, and technology.

“This program is an exceptional opportunity for training and developing the next generation of NOAA scientists and researchers,” said Louisa Koch, director of NOAA’s Office of Education.

Students will receive up to $8,000 of academic assistance per year for full-time study during their junior and senior years, a 10-week, paid internship of $650 per week during the upcoming summer, including a housing subsidy, round-trip travel to the internship site, and travel expenses to the Hollings Program conference in Silver Spring, Md.

A list of the Hollings scholars follows, and is also available online.

The scholarship program is named after retired South Carolina Senator Ernest F. Hollings, who promoted ocean and atmospheric study and research. Since its inception in 2005, the Hollings scholarship has been awarded to 555 students. To be eligible, students must be a U.S. citizen, a full-time sophomore at an accredited college or university within the United States or U.S. territories, and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 (based on a 4.0 scale) in all completed undergraduate courses and in the major field of study. Majors must be in a discipline area related to oceanic and atmospheric science, research, technology, or education, and supportive of the purposes of NOAA's programs and mission, such as the biological, social, and physical sciences; mathematics; engineering; computer and information sciences; and teacher education.

NOAA’s Office of Education has a broad mandate from Congress to educate the public about ocean, coastal, Great Lakes, and atmospheric science and stewardship. As a world leader in understanding these issues and how they impact our health, our economy, and our future, NOAA embraces the opportunity to expand the public’s understanding of Earth’s natural systems.

NOAA understands and predicts changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and conserves and manages our coastal and marine resources.

2009 Hollings Scholars

Vanna Chmielewski, University of South Alabama
Richard Cockrum, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
Arthur Eiserloh, University of South Alabama
Sarah Larson, University of South Alabama
Emily Wayman, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa

Tyler Linderoth, University of Alaska Southeast

Ashton Mead, Arkansas State University

Jennifer Keliher, Southwestern College
Maha Haji, University of California, Berkeley
Jill Hardy, University of Southern California
Spencer Hill, University of California, Los Angeles
Jennifer Leonard, Mira Costa College
Jonathan Nye, University of California, Santa Cruz
Emmett Perl, University of San Diego
Hanae Spathias, Humboldt State University
Jonathan Weber, Santa Barbara City College

Marshall Carpenter, University of Colorado, Boulder
Lauren Shoemaker, Colorado College

Katrina Clark, Eastern Connecticut State University
Kaitlin Heenehan, University of Connecticut

Charlotte Schou, George Washington University

Allison Davis, University of Delaware

Hilary Browning, Eckerd College
Lia Brune, University of Florida
Becca Derex, Eckerd College
Michael Dexter, New College of Florida
Kenneth Dixon, University of Miami
Eherin Fennell, University of North Florida
Scott Hawley, University of Miami
Ashley Hibbard, Eckerd College
Jeremy Keller, Eckerd College
Lillian McCormick, Eckerd College
Megan Morris, University of Miami
Paul Robbins, Eckerd College

Matthew Taylor, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sarah Davis, Hawaii Pacific University
Keith Hernandez, University of Hawaii, Hilo

Trevor Ferguson, Ricks College (BYU-Idaho)

Mitchell Isaacson, College of Du Page

Anthony Acciaioli, Valparaiso University
Jason Davis, Valparaiso University
Regina McCormack, University of Notre Dame
Andrew Mullen, University of Notre Dame
Jaclyn Ritzman, Valparaiso University

Justin Krosschell, Dordt College
JoBeth Minniear, Iowa State University

Jeremy Bender, University of Maine, Orono
Samantha Bond, University of Maine, Orono
Troy Wilcox, University of New England
Shelby Yahn, University of New England

Kaitlyn Grigsby, St. Mary's College of Maryland
Matisyahu Kleidman, University of Maryland, College Park

Ellen Abramowitz, Brandeis University
Jesse Thornburg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Natasha Whitney, Harvard University
Morgan Wilson, Mount Holyoke College

Megan Haserodt, Hope College
Shelby LaBuhn, Lake Superior State University
Joeseph Smith, Washtenaw Community College
Sarah Trojniak, Central Michigan University

Nicholas Holschuh, Carleton College
Andrea Thorstensen, Saint Cloud State University
Matthew Van Winkle, Carleton College

Calista Guthrie, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Abigail Dyer, University of Missouri, Columbia
Benjamin Herzog, University of Missouri, Columbia
Stuart Miller, University of Missouri, Columbia

New Hampshire
Justin Rivard, Plymouth State College

New York
Laura Bendernagel, Columbia University
Kean Clifford, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Genevieve Davis, State University of New York, Binghamton
Sara Ganetis, State University of New York, Albany
Katie Hoskinson, St. Lawrence University
Molly Moynihan, Cornell University
Patrick Nadeau, Cornell University
Jessica Popp, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Peri Sasnett, Columbia University

North Carolina
Kerri Allen, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Rebecca Cumbie, North Carolina State University, Raleigh
Ondrej Dyck, Appalachian State University
Heather Page, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Chelsea Vick, Elizabeth City State University
North Dakota
Matthew Saari, University of North Dakota

Casey Arnold, Ohio University
Jonathan Edwards, Kenyon College
Nicole Grams, Ohio University
Kimmaree Horvath, University of Akron
Pamela Moriarty, Kenyon College

Lindsey Richardson, University of Oklahoma, Norman
Elizabeth Rockwell, University of Oklahoma, Norman
Keith Sherburn, University of Oklahoma, Norman

Mark Berguson, Juniata College
Lindsay Budnick, Ursinus College
Adam Gonsiewski, Millersville University
Christopher Hanlon, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Andrea Leshak, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Kimberly Moyer, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Peter Murray, Gettysburg College
Zeljko Raic, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg
Emily Reuman, Bryn Mawr College
Christopher Slocum, Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Rhode Island
Connor Capizzano, University of Rhode Island
Megan O'Brien, University of Rhode Island
Amber Thomas, Roger Williams University
Harrison Zimmer, University of Rhode Island

South Carolina
Mary-Lisa Goodrum, Clemson University

Eric Stradley, Rhodes College

Oscar Lopez, University of Texas-El Paso

Garrett Combs, Lyndon State College

Marinda Coulter, Virginia Commonwealth University
Carolyn Doherty, University of Richmond
Avery Paxton, University of Virginia
Jeffrey Strong, University of Virginia
Jonathan Williams, Mary Washington College

Alexandra Brewer, University of Washington, Seattle
Andrew Davison, University of Washington, Seattle
Wesley Dyer, Western Washington University
Josh Stewart, Shoreline Community College

West Virginia
Andrew Carver, Concord College

Thomas Langel, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Jacquelyn Topp, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
Michael Zeamer, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee