Students Selected for 2008 NOAA Scholarships Honoring Dr. Nancy Foster

Spetember 2, 2008

Nancy Foster Scolarship recipients.
Nancy Foster Scolarship recipients.

High resolution (Credit: NOAA)

NOAA has selected nine scholars as national recipients of the Dr. Nancy Foster Scholarships as outstanding graduate-level scholars in the fields of marine biology, coastal resource management, and maritime archeology.

The scholarships were established in memory of Dr. Foster’s 23-year tenure at NOAA. A leader in marine resource conservation, she was inspirational in her role as one of the top senior executives in the marine field. Congress created the scholarship in 2000 as a means of honoring her life's work and contribution to the nation.

Each scholarship recipient will receive an annual stipend of $20,000 and up to $12,000 annually for tuition. Doctoral students are eligible to continue the scholarship program for four years and master’s level students for two years.

The nine scholarship recipients are:

Kelly Jones – University of Washington
Kelly Kearney - Princeton University
Emily Klein - University of New Hampshire
Erin Ann LaBrecque - Duke University
Kathleen Morrow - Auburn University
Erinn Muller – Florida Institute of Technology
Rachel Neuenhoff – Texas A&M University
Danielle (Shulman) Staaf – Stanford University
Kimberly Tenggardjaja – University of California, Santa Cruz

This is the eighth year of the scholarship program and NOAA received over 108 applications. A panel of NOAA scientists ranked the applications and finalists were selected based on their ranking scores, financial need, academic excellence, recommendations, and research and career goals.

NOAA understands and predicts changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and conserves and manages our coastal and marine resources.